Monday, June 4, 2018

Hall of Famer Jim Kelly to Receive Jimmy V Award for Perseverance at ‘The 2018 ESPYS Presented by Capital One,’ July 18, on ABC

Hall of Famer Jim Kelly to Receive Jimmy V Award for Perseverance at ‘The 2018 ESPYS Presented by Capital One,’ July 18, on ABC

Former Buffalo Bills quarterback and Hall of Famer Jim Kelly will be
honored with the Jimmy V Award for Perseverance at “The 2018 ESPYS
Presented by Capital One.” Kelly, who led the Bills to four straight AFC
championships, was diagnosed with squamous cell carcinoma in his jaw in
2013. Over the past five years since his diagnosis, Kelly has embodied the
definition of perseverance with his spirit and fearless attitude. He will
accept the Jimmy V Perseverance Award sponsored by Bristol-Myers Squibb on Wednesday, July 18, at “The 2018 ESPYS Presented by
Capital One” on ABC.
Kelly began his career in 1983 when he was picked 14th overall
in the first round of the NFL Draft. After starting with the Houston
Gamblers, he moved on to play for the Buffalo Bills in 1986, where he
famously ran their “K-Gun” no-huddle offense. From 1991 to 1994, he helped
lead the Bills to four consecutive Super Bowls. In his first year of
eligibility, Kelly was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2002.
In 2013, Kelly got the news that would change his life forever when he
learned that he had a form of cancer in his upper jaw. After being told he
was cancer-free that same year, the disease returned shortly thereafter.
After many grueling years of chemotherapy and radiation, Kelly announced
his oral cancer had returned in March 2018, 3 ½ years after he was declared
“I am honored to receive the Jimmy V Award for Perseverance at ‘The
ESPYS’,” said Kelly. “It’s humbling to now be included on the long list of
inspirational and courageous recipients of this prestigious award. I’d like
to thank The V Foundation and ESPN for my consideration, as well as for all
of the incredible work they do for cancer research. They truly do ‘make a
difference today for someone who is fighting for their tomorrow.’”
Kelly will be the second Buffalo Bill player to receive the award – in 2008
Kevin Everett was honored after his heroic recovery from a life-threatening
cervical spine injury that threatened his ability to walk again.
“Jim Kelly truly epitomizes perseverance,” said Alison Overholt, vice
president and editor-in-chief, ESPN The Magazine, espnW and “The ESPYS.”
“We are honored to give him the Jimmy V Award for Perseverance this year as
he embodies the determination, strength of character and spirit of the
Added Maura Mandt, executive producer, “The ESPYS”: “The inspirational
attitude and unparalleled positivity Jim has exhibited, throughout not only
his battle with the disease but also his entire career on the field, is an
example of what we should all strive to be.”
The Jimmy V Perseverance Award is given to a deserving member of the
sporting world who has overcome great obstacles through perseverance and
determination. In 2007, Women’s College basketball coach Kay Yow became the
very first recipient of the Jimmy V Perseverance Award. Past recipients
include Eric LeGrand, Anthony Robles, George Karl, Dick and Rick Hoyt;
Stuart Scott, Devon and Leah Still; Craig Sager and Jarrius Robertson.

About “The ESPYS”
“The ESPYS” gather top celebrities from sports and entertainment to
commemorate the past year in sports by recognizing major sports
achievements, reliving unforgettable moments and saluting the leading
performers and performances. “The 2018 ESPYS Presented by Capital One” will
recognize achievements in categories such as “Best MLB Player,” “Best
Team,” “Best Female Athlete” and “Best Upset.” Inspiring human stories are
showcased through three pillar awards – the Arthur Ashe Courage Award, the
Jimmy V Perseverance Award and the Pat Tillman Award for Service. “The
ESPYS” support ESPN’s ongoing commitment to the V Foundation for Cancer
Research, launched by ESPN with the late Jim Valvano in 1993. 

No comments:

Post a Comment